2017 OAA Conference Hi-Lights

Ohio Auctioneers Gather for Annual Conference

Auctioneers from across the state convened this past weekend for the Ohio Auctioneers Association (OAA) annual conference.  The conference was held this year at the Sheraton Suites in Cuyahoga Falls, January 13-15.

Highlights of this year’s conference included the, annual Trade Show with over nineteen industry vendors, the Ohio Auctioneers Championship, Auction Marketing Awards, Hall of Fame Inductions, a Children’s Auction, the Presidential Luncheon and the election of the Board of Directors.

Throughout the weekend, Auctioneers were presented with dynamic and engaging educational seminars from industry leading Auctioneers and presenters. This year the OAA was honored to have Mike Brandly, Beth Rose, Megan McCurdy Niedens, Bobby D. Ehlert, Hannes Combest, Tom Saturley and John Davis as presenters

Wade Baer of Rogers was crowned the 2017 Ohio Auctioneers Champion (senior division) Billy Peyton of Somerville, was crowned the Junior Champion- in a competition that featured thirty-three Auctioneers vying for the coveted title. 

The highest award conveyed to an Auctioneer in Ohio is an induction into the Ohio Auctioneer’s Hall of Fame. Douglas Walton of Upper Sandusky, OH was inducted into this year’s Hall of Fame class. 

The OAA held their annual election of officers at the annual membership business meeting, electing Scott Mihalic of Chardon- President, Darren Bok of Hicksville – Vice-President, Jerry Hall of Warren – Treasurer, Buddy Barton of Wooster – Director at Large, Anna VanDyke of North Canton – Northeast Director, Robert Carpenter of Wayne – Northwest Director and Laura Mantle of Columbus, OH – Southeast Director.  Remaining board members include: Susan Johnson, Karen Huelsman, Wade Baer, and immediate Past President Peter Gehres.

The 2018 Conference will be held at the Marriott at the Columbus Airport January 12-14, 2018 2017.